top of page
  • Earl News

Food Wars: The Ultimate Avocado Toast Taste Test

Inspired by Tasty, this week I asked my friends to submit their recipes for their avocado toast. Thank you to everyone who submitted a recipe! I ended up only selecting 3 recipes to try out and review because a lot of them were quite similar to each other. I feel like avocado toast is very personal to each individual because of their spice tolerance and flavour preferences. Prior to this taste test, I felt very proud of my recipe. Now, I have copied one of these recipes and am using it as my own. It’s just so good!


In this taste test, I judged each toast based on the following criteria:

  • Taste

  • Balance of Ingredients

  • How hard it is to make


I asked each contestant to describe what their avocado toast tasted like in three words or under, as well as explain how to make it with the quantities and ingredients.

 

Recipe #1 Made by Rachel

Description of this avocado toast: Creamy, tasty, crunchy



Ingredients:

  • 1 mashed avocado

  • Salt and pepper to taste

  • ¼ tsp garlic powder

  • ½ tsp cumin

  • Tomato

  • Paprika


Steps:

  1. Mash all the ingredients together

  2. Place them on top of two pieces of toast

  3. Add sliced tomato, more salt and pepper and extra paprika on top



My Review:


This recipe was definitely tasty. It lived up to its description.

  • Taste:

  • Balance of Ingredients: 3.7/5

  • Complexity: Medium

  • Comments: Cumin is a wonderful spice to add to this recipe but I felt that it was a bit overpowering. That is honestly to preference and the amount of cumin you add can be to taste as well. In general, I thoroughly enjoyed the uniqueness of this recipe!


 

Recipe #2: Made by Miranda

Description of the avocado toast: Simple, tasty, messy


Ingredients:

  • 1 or 2 prices of Toast (any white or whole grain bread)

  • 1 or half of an Avocado

  • Garlic powder

  • Chilli powder

  • Pepper


Steps:

  1. Toast the bread in toaster

  2. Smush avocado

  3. Add the seasonings to smushed avocado

  4. Put the avocado on the toast



My Review:

  • Taste: 3.8/5

  • Balance of Ingredients: 3.5/5

  • Complexity: Easy

  • Comments: I personally liked the touch of chilli powder in the recipe. My family uses chilli powder in almost every recipe and I love the flavour it brings to it. In the recipe though, there was no mention of salt and for that reason, I felt like there could have been more flavour with it. I thought that this was an easy to make recipe and enjoyed eating it!


 


Recipe #3: Made by Iris

Description of the avocado toast: Flavourful, filling, simple




Ingredients:

  • ½ Avocado

  • ⅛ - ¼ tsp of:

  • Garlic powder

  • Paprika

  • Cayenne pepper

  • Chilli flakes

  • Lemon or lime juice

  • Salt and pepper to taste

  • One egg

  • Butter





Steps:

  1. Mash avocado in bowl and season

  2. Crack an egg on to a buttered pan and cook until medium (slightly undercooked on the inside)

  3. Cover with a lid to make it cook more evenly

  4. Put a little but of salt and pepper on the egg

  5. Put avocado spread on toast and top with the egg


My Review:

  • Taste: 5/5

  • Balance of Ingredients: 4.5/5

  • Complexity: Hard

  • Comments: I absolutely loved this recipe. In fact, I made it for both my brother and I for breakfast and he requested that I make it again on the same day because he was craving it so much. This is the most similar to the recipe that I previously used but I enjoy this one better. The lime juice adds so much flavour and the egg, although not necessary, balances out the flavour so well and makes for a nice addition.


I hope you enjoyed the first edition of Food Wars, an article series that I want to continue! Below are two google forms I have attached that I would love for you to fill out so you can: a) tell me which recipes you would like to see reviewed in the future and b) to submit your recipe for the iced coffee recipe edition!



Iced Coffee:


59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page