top of page
  • Writer's pictureOrlando Ong & Miranda Sun

Monthly Fashion Spotlight: Featuring Jessica Lee & Alex Rancourt

The Monthly Fashion Spotlight is an article written every launch that highlights EOM students' personal style. A photoshoot and interview is conducted on a student with a unique style to learn more about what their style means to them, and to inspire other students to evolve and build their own personal style. This launch, we interviewed two grade 11 students, Jessica Lee and Alex Rancourt, to find out what he would describe to be his own style.



How would you describe your style and what would you categorize it as?

Jess: “I would say my style is very casual but i try to make it unique. To make it unique, I like pairing cool sweaters with a purse. I would describe my style as more modern, y2k vintage, by pairing more modern pieces with vintage and y2k pieces. I like wearing anything and am open to everything.”


Where do you get your clothes from; favourite brands?

Jess: “I thrift a lot of my cool outfits, so I get most of my unique pieces from thrift stores, some from Depop and some from just going to Value Village. I would say Zara is probably my favourite brand because I like how they have fancy clothes but also a more casual end with more jeans, they also have mixed modern, and vintage sweaters.


What is your favourite piece of clothing to style? Ex; Accessories, Shirts, Pants, etc.

Jess: “I would say my favourite piece of clothing to style would be sweaters, because there are so many different types of sweaters out there; hoodies, crewnecks, knit sweaters, sweater vests, cardigans, just to name a few. You can find so many unique vintage sweaters with a lot of cool patterns and I find a sweater is what makes your outfit, and a cutesy one too!”



What is one piece of advice you would give to people trying to find their own style?

Jess: “Wear whatever you want. In simple terms, if you see something that you like or love in a store, buy it! Pair it with what you think would look nice, and try to wear what you think matches your style. Don’t try and be someone you’re not!”

 

How would you describe your style and what would you categorize it as?

Alex: I would describe my styles as vintage and vintage. A lot of my pieces and clothes from the early 80s, 90s, 2000s. In that era a lot of people would dress with a lot more style, shoes were more awesome back then, glasses, pants, and outfits were super cool.”


Where do you get your clothes from; favourite brands?

Alex: I mostly get my clothes from value villages and resell websites like Depop. I don't really like having a favorite brand because I feel like it limits people to bigger brands, and people may miss out in other small business brands.”’


What is your favourite piece of clothing to style? Ex; Accessories, Shirts, Pants, etc.

Alex: “ I really like using blazers and vests. That’s pretty much it. Pants are really easy, cause you can have the same pair of pants and make many different outfits.”


What is one piece of advice you would give to people trying to find their own style?

Alex: “Step outside of your comfort zone, and do not worry about what other people think. At first people may judge you, but remember what they wear is just what everyone else is, like American Eagle for example. If you want to wear something else then you should, because it’s your style and you should wear what you wanna wear. And plus, cooler people wear what they want to wear, not ripped jeans and stuff like that other people always wear.”




194 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page